This website uses cookies

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. By using our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy

Two solicitors join Insolvency Rules Committee

60 Seconds
Two solicitors join Insolvency Rules Committee


The Lord Chancellor has approved the appointment of Robert Paterson and Alexander Wood as solicitor members of the Insolvency Rules Committee.

The Ministry of Justice announced on 17 July that the two solicitors will be appointed to the committee, which considers amendments to the rules arising out of a review of secondary insolvency legislation, and provides recommendations to the Lord Chancellor. The committee is an advisory, non-departmental public body, sponsored by the Ministry of Justice.

Robert Paterson has been appointed for three years, from 26 June . He is a partner at Wedlake Bell and specialises in all aspects of restructuring and insolvency law. He acts for officeholders, lenders, directors and creditors, and has recently advised on a number of cross-border insolvencies. Paterson spent six months on secondment to the Policy Unit of the Insolvency Service. He is also a licensed insolvency practitioner.

Alexander Wood will be appointed for three years, from 1 October. He is a former partner at Shearman & Sterling with over 25 years’ experience working on some of the most complex insolvency and restructuring matters including Westinghouse, MF Global, the Lehman Bros cases and the sovereign debt restructures of Ukraine and Argentina. He continues to consult, with Shearman, in addition to undertaking other activities including teaching corporate insolvency at post-graduate level.